Geek dictionary


Asynchronous / synchronous: Terms employed for online distant classes. In a synchronous format all participants and teachers have to be connected in the same time to interact. In an asynchronous format, participants don’t need to be connected at the same time to carry out the activity.

Blended learning: Learning method mixing distant and face-to-face sessions.

Video capsule: A few minutes video presenting a process, an idea or a technical concept, in a synthetic way and with a voice-over. Unit element of a blended learning course path.

Chaptered video capsule: Video capsule enriched with chapters allowing to give rhythm to the presentation and to consult directly the interesting chapters. Can also contain quizz. Example of a tool: Panopto.

Virtual class: Digital environment allowing to deliver a distant class in a synchronous format. Adobe Connect is one example of the virtual class tools offering multiple possibilities to raise interactions.

Pedagogical system allowing to gather students and teachers at a particular time, using a specific tool (example: Adobe Connect). These virtual classes can take different formats (single session, multiple sessions, blended/mixing with face-to-face sessions…).

Design Thinking: Creativity and co-construction process of a solution, mixing analytical and intuitive thinking. Example of application: design with lego kits.

Forum: Section of a website or platform (like LMS or in a intranet…) allowing participants to communicate messages in an asynchronous way and to share ideas and information. The forum’s interest is that it is visible by every participant and it allows a categorization of the topics. Forums have to be moderated by one or several persons to be dynamic, to develop and to create a cohesion between the members.

LMS (Learning Management System): Digital platform allowing teachers to organize, register and manage courses spaces, and students to access them. It allows also to create online exams. Main French LMS: Moodle, Blackboard.

MOOC: Massive Open Online Course. It’s a chaptered course open to any Internet user. Often spread on several weeks, with distant group works, online chat, quizz, it allows to get some training on a particular topic and to benefit from knowledge on a thematic. Sometimes it can be opened to a certification (often with a fee).

Motion Design: Technology allowing to set in motion/animate graphic elements, from an image library or created de facto. This technique allows to edit pedagogical video capsules with a dynamic format, and is particularly adapted to process descriptions or to make an abstract notion more concrete. These capsules are co-designed with the teacher, the pedagogical engineer and the graphic designer

SPOC (Small Private Online Course): Private online course in small groups, often spread on multiple sessions, on the same principle as the MOOCs. However, the audience is limited to a users group define in advance.

Storytelling: Apply to the pedagogy, it refers to the way of designing the learning script of a pedagogical path by using narrative tools (characters, dialogs, stage setting, contextualization, logic of « where do we want to go? »…). The design can include digital elements.

Chat: Instant messaging system allowing to bring in an easy way a communication system between distant people. Can be an excellent medium/tool for project management (high reactivity) and a good addition to phone and email. Chat’s interest lies also in its management: possibility of multiple persons connected to the chat (very useful in case of « taskforces », possibility for the user to manage status (« don’t disturb», « in meeting », « out of the office »…), to save messages. Example of tool: Skype.

WIKI: Digital space in a platform (LMS or specific platform like a company intranet…) allowing members to share and structure information. These information can be on the definition of concepts, the sharing of best practices, ideas… The WIKI is only interesting if it gathers people around a particular topic or common expertises and if it is animated by someone.

Dico des geeks


Asynchrone / synchrone : Termes employés pour des cours à distance en ligne. Dans une formation synchrone, les participants et les formateurs doivent être connectés en même temps pour interagir. Dans une formation asynchrone, les participants n’ont pas besoin d’être connectés de manière simultanée pour la réaliser une activité.

Blended learning : Mode d’apprentissage mêlant sessions de formation présentiel (face à face) et formation à distance.

Capsule vidéo : Vidéo courte de quelques minutes présentant de manière synthétique, avec une voix off dynamique, un process, une idée, un concept technique. Elément unitaire d’un parcours en blended learning.

Capsule vidéo chapitrée (ou podcast) : Capsule video enrichie d’un chapitrage permettant au participant de rythmer le suivi de la présentation et d’aller consulter directement les chapitres qui l’intéressent. Peut aussi contenir des quizz. Exemple d’outil : Panopto

Classe virtuelle : Environnement numérique permettant de délivrer un cours à distance en mode synchrone. Adobe Connect est un exemple d’outil de classe virtuelle offrant de nombreuses possibilités pour susciter des interactions.

Design Thinking : Processus de créativité et de co-construction d’une solution, mêlant pensée analytique et pensée intuitive. Exemple d’application : design par les kits lego.

Forum : espace numérique sur un site web ou une plateforme (de type LMS, ou plateforme spécifique en entreprise sur l’intranet…etc) , qui permet aux adhérents de communiquer des messages en mode asynchrone et d’échanger des idées et informations. L’intérêt du forum est qu’il est visible de tous, et qu’il permet aussi une catégorisation des sujets abordés. Les forums doivent être animés par un ou plusieurs modérateurs pour qu’ils puisse vivre et se développer, créer du lien entre leurs membres

LMS (Learning Management System) : Plateforme numérique permettant d’organiser, déposer et gérer des espaces de cours pour les enseignants, et pour les étudiants d’y accéder. Permet également de créer des examens en ligne. Principaux LMS en France : Moodle, Blackboard.

MOOC : Massive Open Online Course. Il s’agit d’un cours chapitré ouvert gratuitement à n’importe quel internaute. Souvent étalé sur plusieurs semaines, agrémenté de travaux de groupes à distance, de tchat en ligne, de quiz, il permet à chacun de se former sur un sujet et de bénéficier de connaissances sur une thématique. Il peut parfois donner lieu à une certification (qui elle est payante).

Motion Design : Technologie permettant de mettre en mouvement/ en animation des éléments graphiques, qu’ils soient récupérés dans une bibliothèque d’images ou qu’ils soient créés de facto. Cette technique permet de monter des capsules pédagogiques sur un format dynamique, et est particulièrement adaptée aux descriptions de processus / ou pour rendre concrète une notion abstraite. Ces capsules sont une co-construction entre l’enseignant, l’ingénieur pédagogique, et le graphiste.

SPOC (Small Private Online Course) : Cours en ligne privé en petit groupe, dispositif étalé sur plusieurs sessions sur le même principe que les MOOC. En revanche, l’audience est limitée à un groupe d’apprenants défini en amont.

Storytelling : Littéralement, « raconter une histoire ». Appliqué au champ de la pédagogie, il s’agit de la manière de construire, de monter le scénario d’apprentissage d’un parcours pédagogique en utilisant des outils de narration (personnages, dialogues, mise en scène, contextualisation, logique de « où veut-on aller? »…). Il peut ou non inclure la prise en compte d’éléments numériques dans sa conception. Exemple de storytelling (capsule compta).

Tchat : Système de messagerie instantanée, permettant d’apporter de manière très souple un système de communication entre des personnes éloignées ou multi-sites. Peut être un excellent support / outil pour la gestion de projet (fort potentiel de réactivité), et un très bon complément au téléphone / mail classique. L’intérêt du tchat réside également dans sa gestion : possibilité de tchat à plusieurs (très utile dans le cas de « taskforces éclair »), possibilité pour l’utilisateur de gérer des statuts (« ne pas déranger », « en réunion », « absent »…), de sauvegarder des messages. Exemples d’outils : Skype

WIKI : Espace numérique au sein d’une plateforme (de type LMS, ou plateforme spécifique sur un intranet d’entreprise…etc) permettant aux adhérents d’échanger et de structurer des informations. Ces informations peuvent être sur la définition de concepts, le partage d’expériences, d’idées… Le WIKI n’est intéressant que s’il rassemble des personnes autour d’une thématique ou d’un intérêt commun, et s’il est animé par quelqu’un.